Squash BC thanks Vancouver Doubles League Coordinator Cathy Brown for contributing this recap of the VDL Finals.

It was a long night of amazing matches but in the end Evergreen, the season winners, were not to be denied their first ever Vancouver Doubles League Title. They came into the evening down 8 games to 5 but after winning 2 of the three “Final Four” matches it all came down to the final match – Thomas Brinkman and Alex Garceau vs BC Doubles Winners Viktor Berg and Drew Henderson. The Evergreen duo were absolutely relentless, missing nothing and chasing down everything. Great energy, camaraderie food and drink were enjoyed by all.

Huge thanks to our three Referees – Yaz, Covey and Glen – and the various linespeople they were able to cajole.

We also awarded the first annual Brian MacFarlane Memorial Leadership award to Brian Covernton. Covey received the most votes from players in the VDL for his passion for Doubles, sportsmanlike behaviour and remarkable contributions to the Vancouver Doubles League over the last 30 years. A most appropriate first recipient !

Final Count

  • Winners of the Haebler Cup awarded this year to the team with most points in Positions 5 through 7 – Evergreen
  • Winners of the Windsor Plywood Cup awarded this year to the team with most points in Positions 1 through 4 – Vancouver Lawn Tennis
  • Winners of the Silver Cup awarded to the team that won the FINALS Position 1 through 7 – Evergreen
  • Recipient of the Brian MacFarlane Memorial Leadership AwardBrian Covernton

Finally huge thanks and kudos to all of the Captains – Jody, Richard, Hussein, Greg, Mike and Mark who were the guys that made this season work so well. We will be having a Season Debrief at some point so if you have any feedback forward it to your captain or directly to me cathybrown0616@gmail.com.

See you on the courts soon.