The Squash BC service awards recognize volunteers who have worked long and hard to promote, organize, and champion squash in the community. The awards also recognize player athletes who epitomize good sportsmanship and also excel athletically. Here is a summary of awards recipients for this 2021-2022 Squash BC season:


The President’s Plate is awarded to the best supporter of our game and our Association. The trophy has recent history, having been donated by then-President of the B.C.S.R.A., John Cartmel, in 1978.

2022 Recipient: Cathy Brown

Cathy Brown was instrumental in navigating Squash BC’s transition from SportyHQ to Club Locker. She put in countless hours guiding Club Locker and supporting/training our club representatives on the platform. As well, her leadership in the doubles community, specifically with the Doubles Leagues, and her experience on several Squash BC committees further contribute to why she deserves this award.


The Kevin Kydd Award is awarded to the individual or group of individuals who has/have unselfishly inspired, coached and/or mentored the Junior squash players. This award was donated and started by Paul King and family.

2022 Recipient: The Sunshine Squash Club

The Sunshine Squash Club’s purpose is to promote the sport, establish a platform for players to learn from each other, and fundraise to not only give back to the sport, but to also help with community initiatives, programs and events. The Sunshine Squash Club’s team, a group of four of Canada’s top junior squash players Jacob LinWeihan WangOcean Ma and Spring Ma, did some incredible work this year, including leading successful live and virtual events, making charitable donations, and providing overall leadership in our Junior community. The team at the Sunshine Squash Club did it all while being young athletes with full school and training schedules!


The Massy Goolden Award, named after dedicated squash enthusiast Captain Massy Goolden, is designated to honour junior players for their athletic achievements at national, provincial and/or international events along with their true embodiment of sportsmanship.

2022 Recipients: Alex Brown and Christian Yuen

Alex exemplified consistent fair play at all events, excellent competencies as a role model for younger juniors, and had strong showings at both Nationals and Provincials in the last two years. She also received The Alex Doucas Memorial Award for good sportsmanship at Junior Nationals this year! Below are some of her results from the 2021-2022 season:
– 5th place in the GU19 draws at the 2021 and 2022 Canadian Junior Squash Championships
– Top 16 finish in the Women’s Open Draw at the 2022 Canadian Squash Championships
– Girls U19 Champion at the 2022 BC Junior Provincial Championships

Christian demonstrated extreme passion and determination, stoic level-headed demeanor on court, and had strong showings at both Nationals and Provincials in the last two years. Christian has competed at the highest level as a junior for the province of BC, and some of his most recent results from the 2021-2022 season include:
– Top 8 finish in the BU19 Draw at the 2021 and 2022 Canadian Junior Squash Championships
– Boys U19 Champion at the 2022 BC Junior Provincial Championships


The Squash Canada Certificate of Achievement Award is presented to individuals and/or companies who have made significant ongoing contributions to squash in Canada at the provincial or territorial level.

2022 Recipient: Brian Covernton

Brian is an ambassador for the sport, having been involved with squash and its communities over the past several decades. He has contributed his time and effort as a Jester and has served as a major pillar in the doubles community by co-chairing the ‘Doubles Committee’ this past year, running tournaments and events throughout the year, and implementing doubles officiating programs in BC for several years. Throughout his time in the community, Brian has been a key driver and builder not only for BC, but across the country as well.


The Squash BC Board and Staff elected to provide a special recognition to the Squash BC Partnership Committee for their incredible accomplishment of raising $342,000 for the Squash BC Building the Future Fund – Growth Initiative Kickstart Fundraising Phase. They are driving the revitalization of Squash in BC and Squash BC thanks them for their incredible efforts!

Partnership Committee Members:
– Co-Chair: Allan Brown
– Co-Chair: Nancy Thompson
– John Hungerford
– Eddie Gudewill
– Hugh Woolley
– Scott MacInnis
– Natasha Doucas
– Rashid Aziz

Congratulations to all awards winners! We look forward to this new squash season!